Positive Outlooks

Well… I’ve been pretty busy for the past few months, thus the lack of new posts. Looking back, this isn’t all that different from my previous track record. I mean, really, this blog will be a year old here in a few weeks and I have not even made it to the ten post milestone. We’ll see if I can do better in the future. For the moment, though, I’ll take solace in the fact that the majority of new blogs take a fair amount of time to get rolling. To continue the theme of rolling right along, let’s move on.

A Mountain Afternoon

A Mountain Afternoon

There are many reasons for the lack of new material, most of them centering on the demands of university life (the rumors that organic chemistry is difficult and time consuming… they’re quite true!) and my unfortunate inability to find inspiration in the flatlands surrounding UC Davis. For awhile I was actually considering transferring to another university, but that’s another story for another time. For now, I would rather focus on the glories of God’s creation and the spiritual fervor that I have recently begun to reacquire. I will, however, be keeping today’s thoughts very brief.

Green-stipuled Lupine (Lupinus fulcratus)

Green-stipuled Lupine (Lupinus fulcratus)

I began to notice after my previous post that spending a great deal of time writing about negativity is not the best of ideas. I found myself, shall we say, getting pulled in to the midst of my own argument. It’s not that we should ignore the more turbulent aspects of our daily lives and global society, but a positive outlook within everyday storms can never hurt. On one hand, Proverbs 22:3 says: “The prudent sees danger and hides himself, but the simple go on and suffer for it.” On the other hand, Philippians 4:8 says: “Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things (both scriptures ESV). Acknowledging trials and maintaining positivity are two sides of the same coin, and they are both necessary for a happy, productive existence.

Some people manage to maintain a positive outlook in circumstances that would make me cringe by simply resting in and standing upon the promises of God’s Word. After all, “It is the Lord who goes before you. He will be with you; he will not leave you or forsake you…” (Deuteronomy 31:8 ESV). While I haven’t yet attained such a level of spiritual discipline, I hope to someday. For now, though, I’ll earnestly seek to maintain a positive attitude through the love of family and the beauties of Creation that God allows me to enjoy.

Galena Falls

Galena Falls

Spending time in nature, pursuing photography, and writing are a few things that set me in a positive frame of mind. What pursuits has the Father instilled in you that bring about positive feelings? Have you pursued them recently?

Leave a Contemplation

